Wisconsin’s Own film submissions now open – closes December 29, 2017

September 5, 2017

Media Contact: Ben Reiser | Outreach & Community Engagement Coordinator and Wisconsin’s Own Programmer | (608) 262-9009

Websites: Wisconsin’s Own Submissions: go.wisc.edu/wisconsinsownsubmissions | General Wisconsin Film Festival: wifilmfest.org

Wisconsin’s Own film submissions now open – closes December 29, 2017

Madison, WI – The Wisconsin Film Festival is now accepting submissions of Wisconsin’s Own films to be shown during the 20th annual Festival – April 5-12, 2018. The Wisconsin’s Own category is for films and filmmakers with Wisconsin connections.

Eligible films must be shot primarily or significantly (at least one-third) on location in Wisconsin and/or one or more of the film’s principal creative personnel – i.e., director, producer, screenwriter, lead actor or cinematographer – must be one of the following: born in Wisconsin, a current/former Wisconsin resident for at least one year or an alumnus/current student at a Wisconsin school. The Festival welcomes narrative, documentary, experimental and animated films or videos of any length.

The Wisconsin Film Festival now uses FilmFreeway, an online submission platform, for its Wisconsin’s Own submissions. The deadline for submissions is December 29, 2017.

Submission Process & Entry Fee
Interested applicants should visit go.wisc.edu/wisconsinsownsubmissions for full details including categories, eligible films, the submission process and submission format. Film entries are $35 for short films (under 60 minutes), $45 for feature length films, and $15 for student films of any length.

The Golden Badger Awards
In addition, films that are accepted into the upcoming Festival will be shown to a panel of judges who determine Golden Badger Award winners. Some previous Golden Badger recipients include:


“Cliff, Superfan!” by Diane Moy Quon
“Daedalus and Icarus” by Luke Bassuener and Crestwood Elementary School students
“Lingua Absentia” by Kate Raney and Jeremy Bessoff


“Lamerica” by Stephano Galli
“jazzy@32” by Kara Mulrooney
“Round River” by Xia Magnus


“Clarence” by Kristin Catalano
“Little America” by Kurt Raether
“The Searcher” by Joe Shaffer

For additional winners, visit: wifilmfest.org/awards

About The Wisconsin Film Festival

The Wisconsin Film Festival is presented by the UW-Madison Arts Institute in association with the Department of Communication Arts and was established in 1999. As the largest campus-managed film festival in the nation (25,000-30,000 attendees), it is known for its diverse film offerings including American independent, international cinema, documentaries, experimental and avant-garde, restored classics, Children’s Cinema: Big Screens, Little Folks and Wisconsin’s Own.